Bhagwan Vishnu Avatars and Nine Planets in Vedic Astrology


In Hindu or Vedic Astrology, the Nine Vishnu Avatars are of prime significance. In general, as per Vedic Astrology, nine planets are to be evaluated before making predictions. These planets include Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu, and Ketu. Furthermore, these planets rule over a set of 27 Nakshatras, wherein each planet rules over three nakshatras. However, there are 28 Nakshatras (asterisms) in total. The 28th Nakshatra, i.e. Abhijit, is ruled over by Bhagwan or Lord Vishnu. Lord Vishnu is also known as Bhagwan Narayana and Bhagwan Hari. Within the Supreme Trinity, which includes Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva, Bhagwan Vishnu is The Preserver.

Vedic Astrology, Nine Planets and Nine Vishnu Avatars

In Srimad Bhagavat Mahapuran, Canto 11, Chapter 16, Verse 27, states that among the Nakshatras, Lord Vishnu is Abhijit. For reference, the Verse is given below in Sanskrit with its translation in English.

संवत्सरोऽस्म्यनिमिषामृतूनां मधुमाधवौ ।
मासानां मार्गशीर्षोऽहं नक्षत्राणां तथाभिजित् ॥ २७ ॥

saṁvatsaro ’smy animiṣām ṛtūnāṁ madhu-mādhavau
māsānāṁ mārgaśīrṣo ’haṁ nakṣatrāṇāṁ tathābhijit

saṁvatsaraḥ — the year; asmi — I am; animiṣām — among the vigilant cycles of time; ṛtūnām — among seasons; madhu-mādhavau — spring; māsānām — among months; mārgaśīrṣaḥ — Mārgaśīrṣa (November-December); aham — I am; nakṣatrāṇām — among asterisms; tathā — similarly; abhijit — Abhijit.

English Translation
“Among the vigilant cycles of time, I am the year, and among the seasons, I am spring. Among the months, I am Mārgaśīrṣa, and among the lunar houses, I am the auspicious Abhijit.”

Furthermore, in BPHS, Chapter 2, Verse 3-4, Maharishi Parashara states that Lord Vishnu has incarnated in the form of the Nine Planets or Navagrahas to bestow on the living beings the results of their Karmas. He further says that Bhagwan Vishnu has incarnated in the auspicious form of grahas (planets) to destroy the strength of the evil forces (the demons), to sustain and enhance the resilience of the devas, and to establish dharma (the righteous path).

In BPHS, Chapter 2, Verse 5-7, Maharishi Parashara states the Nine planets and the respective Vishnu Avatars associated with each of them. The table below shows the Opulence of the Lord Vishnu Avatars related to the nine planets.

S. No.Nine Avatars of Lord Vishnu Planet Associated With Each Avatar
4Buddha (Balaram)Mercury

If you are witnessing unfavourable results under the Mahadasha or Antardasha of any planet, you can worship the Vishnu Avatars associated with that particular planet. For example, if you are going through a tough time under Jupiter Mahadasha, you should worship Lord Vishnu in the form of Vamana. Additionally, in Vedic Astrology, Number 7 and Number 9 are of significant importance. The Number 7 represents the main seven planets. Whereas Number 9 signifies seven planets and the two lunar nodes Rahu (Ascending Node) and Ketu (Descending Node).

Significance of the Number 7 (Seven planets)

Throughout the world, seven days together form a week. As per Vedic Astrology, each of the nine planets represents a particular day. For example, the Sun represents Sunday, and the Moon signifies Monday. Likewise, Mars rules over Tuesday and Mercury governs Wednesday. The benevolent and most auspicious Jupiter rules over Thursday. Whereas Venus and Saturn rule over Friday, and Saturday respectively. But as Rahu and Ketu are shadowy planets and do not own any houses in Kalpurush Kundli or Horoscope, they do not represent any day of the week. However, Rahu and Ketu rule over a particular time on each day of the week known as Rahu Kaal. But in Muhurta, Rahu Kaal is termed as inauspicious to begin any activity.

Moreover, in Sanatan Dharma (Hinduism), we have Seven Great Rishis (Sages) known as the Sapta Rishis. The Rainbow also has seven colours.

Significance of the Number 9 (Nine planets including Rahu and Ketu)

  • There are nine planets including, the two shadowy planets — Rahu and Ketu. 
  • Lord Vishnu took nine avatars (incarnations) except the Kalki avatar (yet to incarnate).
  • We have 27 Nakshatras (2+7=9)
  • Navratri signifies nine auspicious days and nights.
  • A Rosary (Japa mala) has 108 beads (1+0+8=9).
  • There is a natural gemstone associated with each of the nine planets.
  • Nine Ashtothram (Ashtothram means 108 (1+0+8 = 9)
  • The ninth house of our horoscope signifies the Bhagya Sthana (House of Fortune).
  • Nine Sahasranama Archana (1008 = 1+0+0+8 = 9).
  • Lord Rama was born on Navami (9th) tithi.
  • A human being takes nine months to be born.
  • Multiply any number by 9, and the resultant will add up to 9. For example, when 9 x 8, the resultant is 81. Now add 8 + 1 (81) = 9.

Exclusive Offer


We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

5 1 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments